Former Ph.D. Students:


1.
James C. Pearce (1976, jointly with Prof. R. H. Sabersky)
Thesis: ``Mechanics of Flowing Granular Media''
 Worked for Chevron; now deceased
 
 
 

2.
Sheung-Lip Ng (1976).
Thesis: ``Dynamic Response of Cavitating Turbomachines''
Now in business in Orange County
E-Mail: slhuang888@aol.com
 
 

3.
Kiam T. Oey (1976, jointly with Prof. C. D. Babcock)
Thesis: ``Leading Edge Flutter of Supercavitating Hydrofoils''
Employed at Space Division, Boeing North-American
E-mail: kiam.t.oey@boeing.com
 
 

4.
Tanh V. Nguyen (1980)
Thesis: ``Studies in the Flow of Granular Material''
Staff engineer at TRW involved in cryogenics
E-mail: tanh.nguyen@trw.com
 
 

5.
David M. Braisted (1980)
Thesis: ``Cavitation Induced Instabilities Associated with Turbomachines''
Employed at ExxonMobil Development Company, Houston, Texas
E-Mail: david.m.braisted@exxonmobil.com
 
 

6.
Robert J. Bernier (1982)
Thesis: ``Unsteady Two-phase Flow Instrumentation and Measurement''
Was employed at Dow Chemical, Houston, Texas; now retired
E-mail: bernierrjb@worldnet.att.net
 
 

7.
Charles S. Campbell (1985)
Thesis: ``Shear Flows of Granular Materials''
Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Southern California
E-mail: campbell@rcf.usc.edu
 
 

8.
Douglas R. Adkins (1986)
Thesis: ``Analyses of Hydrodynamic Forces in Centrifugal Pump Impellers''
Employed at Sandia National Laboratory, Albuquerque
E-mail: dradkin@sandia.gov
 
 

9.
Luca d'Agostino (1987, jointly with Prof. A.J. Acosta)
Thesis: ``Experimental and Theoretical Study on Cavitation Inception and Bubbly Flow Dynamics''
Professor of Aerospace Propulsion, University of Pisa, Italy
E-mail: luca.dagostino@ing.unipi.it
 
 

10.
Belgacem Jaroux (Jery) (1987)
Thesis: ``Experimental Study of Unsteady Hydrodynamic Force Matrices on Whirling Centrifugal Pump Impellers''
Former faculty member at MIT, now engineering consultant in Palo Alto, California
E-mail: jaroux@stanford.edu
 
 

11.
Harri K. Kytomaa (1987)
Thesis: ``Stability of the Structure in Multicomponent Flows''
Former faculty member at M.I.T., now Senior Managing Engineer at Exponent
E-mail: kytomaa@exponent.com
 
 

12.
Hojin Ahn (1989)
Thesis: ``Experimental and Analytical Investigations of Granular Materials: Shear Flow and Convective Heat Transfer''
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Yeditepe University, Istanbul, Turkey
E-mail: erdeman@yeditepe.edu.tr, hojinahn@usa.net
 
 

13.
Ronald John Franz (1989, jointly with Prof. A.J.Acosta)
Thesis: ``Experimental investigation of the effect of cavitation on the rotordynamic forces on a whirling centrifugal pump impeller.''
Staff member at Energent Corporation, Santa Ana, California
E-mail: rfranz@energent.net
 
 

14.
Steven L. Ceccio (1990)
Thesis: ``Observations of the Dynamics and Acoustics of Travelling Bubble Cavitation''
Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan
E-mail: ceccio@engin.umich.edu
 
 

15.
Sanjay Kumar (1992)
Thesis: ``Some Theoretical and Experimental Studies of Cavitation Noise''
Orthopedic surgeon at Kaiser Permanente, Fresno, CA
E-mail: drsanjaymd@gmail.com
 
 

16.
Adiel Guinzburg (1992)
Thesis: ``Rotordynamic Forces Generated by Discharge-to-Suction Leakage Flows in Centrifugal Pumps''
Employed by Rocketdyne Division, Boeing North-American
E-mail: adiel.guinzburg@boeing.com
 
 

17.
Douglas P. Hart (1993, jointly with Prof. A.J.Acosta).
Thesis: ``Cavitation and Wake Structure of Unsteady Tip Vortex Flows''
Professor of Mechanical Engineering, M.I.T.
E-mail: dphart@mit.edu
 
 

18.
Yan Kuhn de Chizelle (1993)
Thesis: ``Scaling effects on the dynamics and acoustics of travelling bubble cavitation''
Employed by Schlumberger, Houston, Texas
E-mail: yankdc@slb.com
 
 

19.
Abhijit Bhattacharya (1994, jointly with Prof. A.J.Acosta)
Thesis: ``Internal flows and force matrices in axial flow inducers''
Was employed by Concepts ETI, Vermont; teaches at Tufts University
E-mail: abi.b2004@gmail.com
 
 

20.
Frank Zhenhuan Liu (1994)
Thesis: ``Nuclei population dynamics and cavitation''
Employed by Align Technology, San Jose, CA
E-mail: fzliu@yahoo.com
 
 

21.
Elizabeth A. McKenney (1995)
Thesis: ``A study of tip vortices and cavitation on a propeller in a non-uniform flow field''
Staff member at Jet Propulsion Laboratory
E-mail: Elizabeth.McKenney@jpl.nasa.gov
 
 

22.
Yi-Chun Wang (1996)
Thesis: ``Shock waves in cavitating flows''
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
E-mail: wangyc@mail.ncku.edu.tw
 
 

23.
Carl R. Wassgren (1997, jointly with Prof. M.L.Hunt)
Thesis: ``Vibration of granular materials''
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University
E-mail: wassgren@ecn.purdue.edu
 
 

24.
Garrett E. Reisman (1997)
Thesis: ``Acoustics, dynamics and control of cloud cavitation on hydrofoils''
former NASA Astronaut; now with SpaceX, California.
E-mail: garrett.e.reisman@jsc.nasa.gov
 
 

25.
Robert V. Uy (1998)
Thesis: ``Studies of rotordynamic forces generated by annular flows''
Research Staff Member, Institute for Defense Analyses
E-mail: ruy@ida.org
 
 

26.
Tricia A. Waniewski (1998, jointly with Prof. F.Raichlen)
Thesis: ``Air entrainment by bow waves''
Director of Business Development, ATA, San Diego, CA
E-mail: tricia.sur@ata-e.com
 
 

27.
Fabrizio d'Auria (199?, jointly with Prof. L. d'Agostino of Univ. of Pisa)
Thesis: ``??''
Portfolio Analyst at The Capital Group Companies, Inc., Los Angeles, CA
E-mail: fad@capgroup.com
 
 

28.
Roberto Zenit (1998, jointly with Prof. M.L.Hunt)
Thesis: ``Collisional mechanics in solid-liquid flows''
Faculty member at the National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico City
E-mail: zenit@servidor.unam.mx
 
 

29.
Mark E. Duttweiler (2000)
Thesis: ``Surge instability on a cavitating propeller''
Staff Member at Applied Minds, Glendale, CA.
E-mail: mark@appliedminds.net
 
 

30.
Yun Hsu (2001)
Thesis: ``Rotordynamic forces generated by annular leakage flows in centrifugal pumps''
Staff Member at Jaycor, San Diego
E-mail: yhsu@jaycor.com
 
 

31.
Stephen R. Hostler (2004)
Thesis: ``Wave propagation in granular materials''
Lead Scientist, reXorce Thermionics, Inc., Akron, Ohio
E-mail: hostler@case.edu
 
 

32.
Erin Koos (2009, jointly with Prof. M.L.Hunt).
Thesis: ``Shear stress measurements of non-spherical particles in high shear rate flows.''
Research Fellow at University of Karlsruhe.
E-mail: erin.koos@mvm.uni-karlsruhe.de
 
 

33.
Nathalie Vriend (2009, jointly with Prof. M.L.Hunt).
Thesis: ``Booming sand dunes.''
Research Fellow at Cambridge University, England.
E-mail: nv253@cam.ac.uk
 
 

34.
Keita Ando (2010, jointly with Prof. T.Colonius).
Thesis: ``Effect of polydispersity in bubbly flows.''
Assistant Professor, Keio University, Tokyo, Japan.
E-mail: KAndo@ntu.edu.sg
 

Last updated 2/20/11.


Christopher E. Brennen, brennen@caltech.edu